Faculty & Staff Awards

The NatSci awards are presented to faculty and staff in the college following the annual State of the College address. For more information on the awards, contact Faith Peterson in the NatSci Dean's Office. The College Faculty Advisory Council selects the faculty awards based on nominations submitted by departments and programs. In addition, endowed teaching awards are selected annually by the Center for Integrative Studies in General Science.

Faculty Teaching Prize

Faculty Teaching Prizes are made to fixed term and tenure system faculty in recognition of excellent teaching. Nominations are made by department chairs during the annual faculty raise process.

Excellence-in-Teaching Citations

Excellence-In-Teaching Citations are made to graduate teaching assistants who have distinguished themselves by the care they have given and the skill they have shown in meeting their classroom responsibilities. The essential purpose of the citation is to bring college-wide recognition to the best of the graduate teaching assistants and by so doing to underline the qualitative contribution which they are making to the undergraduate program.

Support Staff Award

This award recognizes support staff members who exhibit exceptional support to the College of Natural Science or one of its units. The recipient demonstrates excellence in job performance, supportive attitude, and contributions that lead to improved efficiency or effectiveness to better the College’s ability to fulfill its mission. A minimum of five years of service (by December 31 of the year of the award) to NatSci is required.

Undergraduate and Graduate Advisor Awards

The Undergraduate and Graduate Academic Advisor Awards are given annually by the Dean’s Student Advisory Council to faculty or academic specialists who have shown exceptional expertise in advising graduate or undergraduate students in the college.

Distinguished Academic Staff Award

The significant accomplishments and distinguished careers of outstanding academic staff contribute to and augment excellence at the University. The Distinguished Academic Staff Award recognizes the outstanding achievements of professionals who serve the University in advising, curriculum development, outreach, extension, research, and teaching.

Postdoctoral Mentoring Award

This award recognizes the outstanding mentor who successfully guides a postdoctoral researcher(s) successfully on their academic or non-academic career path.

Junior Faculty Mentoring Award

This award recognizes the outstanding mentor who successfully guides a junior faculty member(s) successfully through their academic career path.

Undergraduate Teaching

Undergraduate Teaching Awards recognize teachers who take pride in and are committed to quality undergraduate teaching and who demonstrate substantial continuing involvement in undergraduate education. All current fixed term and tenure system faculty with at least three years of teaching experience at Michigan State University are eligible for nomination.

Teacher-Scholar Award

Teacher–Scholar Awards are made to members of the tenure system faculty from the ranks of assistant professor and associate professor who early in their careers have earned the respect of students and colleagues for their devotion to and skill in teaching. The essential purpose of the award is to provide recognition to the best teachers who have served at MSU for seven years or less.

Outstanding Faculty Award

Outstanding Faculty Awards are made each year to members of the regular faculty, i.e. tenure system faculty and librarians in the continuing appointment system, for outstanding total service to the University. The nominations are based on teaching; advising; research; publications; art exhibitions; concert performances; committee work; public service including extension, continuing education and work with government agencies; or a combination of these activities. Administrative excellence and length of service may not be used as the sole criteria for nomination. However, nominees usually have at least five years of service at Michigan State University.